Skip to content

We’ll Always Have Atlanta

May 5, 2011

So… this is how it feels for 3 seasons of your favorite teams to come to a screeching halt within 24 hours.

Of course I’m talking about:

  • Caps
  • 2011-2012 Terps (Jordan Williams)
  • 2012-2013 Terps (Gary Williams)

While the first two weren’t particularly earth shattering since we all saw them coming from at least a couple of days out, the suddenness and the emotions involved with Gary’s retirement announcement have left me reeling.

It reminds me of the legend of the shirt pillow.

When I was 7 or 8, my favorite shirt was a standard red cotton plain Champion shirt. It was a weekly wear, if not daily. Finally, after roughly a year of almost constant air time, my mom took matters into her own hands. Instead of watching me wear a filthy almost brown shirt everyday, she turned it into a pillow – a comfy red shirt pillow – that I slept soundly on every night for the next decade.

My world came crumbling down one day Senior year of high school, when, during a pillow fight on pajama day, my beloved shirt pillow exploded in my hands. While initially, I was shocked and devastated that my pillar of comfort was gone, I realized something. The reality was that with the amount of use, and my rough and tumble childhood, it’s likely the shirt never would have made it past ’95. Instead, by making it a pillow, it took on another meaning and ended up having a much longer career.

Now I’m not sure who’s who in this story. Maybe I’m me. Maybe we’re all the pillow, and Gary is me. The point is, we’re all immensely better off for having had each other, him and us fans. It was a terrific ride, and I’m glad he was driving.

It’s a sad day, and even sadder seeing posts like this. Still, what keeps me going is knowing I’ll be running into Gary at Bentley’s some day real soon.

Thanks. This will always be Garyland.

Gary's Last Rush of the Court

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeff Luther permalink
    May 6, 2011 8:34 am

    Well said. I remember that t-shirt pillow well. I bought 5 Garyland t-shirts yesterday…maybe one day one of them will turn into a comfort pillow. At least if we get Mike Brey we can all start chanting “Fear the Turtleneck” (thanks random Twitter poster)

    • May 6, 2011 8:41 am

      Right on. That’s a strong move scooping up a bunch of Garyland t-shirts. For now it’s just wait and see time. Hopefully one of these big middle aged coaches will want to settle down in the fertile recruiting grounds on PG.

Leave a Reply

